Tag: These Violent Delights

The StoryGraph Tag

The StoryGraph Tag

Posted March 15, 2021 in Bookish Things, Tags // 6 Comments

Hello everyone! As you may have heard, I’m a big fan of The StoryGraph.  I love their clean design, their statistics and other various tracking resources, and their customer service.  I also really like that they are not owned and operated by Amazon!  But I digress. Here in the book community, we love book tags.  And it occurred to me… we really need a tag for this new site!  There are so many cool features and the fact that it’s literally designed to help people find new reads is screaming for a tag… because a lot of the time, book […]

A Little Awareness, A Little Appreciation, & A Lotta Book Stuff:  January 2021 Wrap Up!

A Little Awareness, A Little Appreciation, & A Lotta Book Stuff: January 2021 Wrap Up!

Posted February 8, 2021 in Checking In // 2 Comments

Welcome to the first wrap up of 2021, where we get to look at everything that got rolling as the new year started and we can celebrate how strikingly different everything is now that it’s not 2020 anymore! I kid, of course, because we still have all the same things to work on as we did in 2020, all the same concerns and challenges and opportunities for growth.  But the psychology of hope is nice, right?  For myself, 2021 hasn’t been too bad on a personal level, and for that I’m truly grateful.  Still, there’s the continued opportunity to do […]

These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

Posted January 28, 2021 in Reviews // 6 Comments

  Fans of Romeo and Juliet are really going to like These Violent Delights.  As far as retellings go, it’s decent.  The best of the story is yet to come in the second book, I think, but the elements of the retelling are all there and nuanced in such a way that give fitting tribute back to the original work.  In short, you can tell in the reading of this book that Chloe Gong is a true fan of the original. I struggled with the chemistry between the two main characters, particularly as we’re going into their story where they already have […]

Good Riddance, 2020!  My December Wrap Up.

Good Riddance, 2020! My December Wrap Up.

Posted January 4, 2021 in Checking In // 0 Comments

Hello everyone!  Good morning and HAPPY JANUARY 4TH 2021.  I know that 2021 isn’t going to solve all our problems.  Or any of it, actually, but the illusion of hope and change and new beginnings are always nice tings to hold on to – it gives us a little bit o strength to pick ourselves up and persevere. *deep breath* 2021 y’all. But not without one last wrap up, and then we can say adieu, right?  So lets do this. All the things I’ve been reading I allowed myself to have a fairly light reading month in December.  I read some […]

What’s This?  A BookTube Channel?  – My November Wrap Up!

What’s This? A BookTube Channel? – My November Wrap Up!

Posted December 7, 2020 in Checking In // 4 Comments

Hello everyone and happy Monday! I’m going to be making a few changes to my wrap ups, starting with this month.  First of all, I’m removing the “haul” section.  There’s a couple reasons for this. I always feel weird talking about new books and ARCs when there are so many out there who can’t bring in books every month because of their location or financial situation. I started a BookTube. In many ways, #2 feels like it cancels out #1.  I don’t get dozens of books every month, either… but Book Hauls seems like a central theme on BookTube and it […]